When Patience Isn’t a Virtue

Little Red Lighthouse, originally uploaded by stacyrosenstock.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, back in April I picked up the Canon G10 because I wanted a pocket camera – some thing I could take along on rides, maybe stick it in my jersey pocket, when I didn’t want to haul around my Nikons.

I see lots of cool stuff when I’m out on my rides but carrying 20 pounds of photo equipment slung from my shoulder as I pedal up the Great Hill isn’t exactly a walk in the park, so to speak.

My first choice was the Panasonic Lumix LX3, which is a 10.1 megapixel  point&shoot that sports a  Leica DC Vario-Summicron lens. Unfortunately the camera seems to have developed a rather cult following and is now backordered till armageddon. I’m not a patient person so, rather than sit around googling LX3 in search of a retailer who had it in stock and at a reasonable price, I gave into .. whatever… and bought the G10.

This week I discovered one of the photos, shot in late May with the G10 of the Little Red Lighthouse at Jeffrey’s Hook, was picked up, as stock, by Time.com for their piece Top 10 Urban Biking Trips through Alamy. The Lighthouse is one of my favorite cycling destinations so this is a double treat.

So maybe going with my second choice wasn’t such a bad idea after all.

2 thoughts on “When Patience Isn’t a Virtue

Leave a Reply

