Favorite Places

091011-SWR026This weekend Open House New York held their yearly event and I finally took the opportunity to climb to the top of the Little Red Lighthouse to take in the view – well I also took a few photos while I was there.

The Lighthouse, at Jeffrey’s Hook, was immortalized in Hildegarde Swift and Lynd Ward childrens’ book The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Grey Bridge and has since become a New York City landmark.

Jeffrey’s Hook also has it’s place in the Revolutionary War as a gauntlet on the Hudson River, between Fort Lee on the Jersey side, and Fort Washington on the New York side. It’s located maybe a half mile from Manhattan’s high point, in Bennett Park, but a good portion of that distance is vertical gain….

Maybe it’s because my mother used to read this book to me when I was a child, or maybe it’s because it’s one of those magical spots along the Greenway, but over the past few years it’s become one of my more frequent cycling destination.

Slide Show

Leave a comment